275 of the best performing students from the 2019/2020, & 2020/ academic years received various prizes and certificate of merit during the 3rd edition of the University of Nairobi prize presentation ceremony held on Friday, May 6, 2022, at Taifa Hall. The University choir set the pace for the colorful prize presentation ceremony with a special song in honor of the 275 awardees “Hongera mnaotuzwa leo mlivyo jitolea kutenda mema, Chuo Nairobi kinawatambua kwa utenda kazi wenu bora. Chanda chema huvishwa pete, kazi nzuri sana tufurahie sote”  Click here to watch the ceremony

Speaking during the award ceremony, the Vice-Chancellor Prof. Stephen Kiama lauded the awardees for exceptional performance and thanked all the donors and partners for their continued support. Prof. Kiama also assured continuing students that the University will establish a similar annual prize award event to reward undergraduate students who excel in academic and extra-curricular activities. The Deputy Vice–Chancellor, Academic Affairs; Prof. Ogeng’o warmly welcomed the guests saying, “we are gathered here to recognize, celebrate, and grant awards to outstanding students and academic achievers for the years 2019/2020, & 2020/2021.”

Also present during the award ceremony were representatives from the donor companies, University management, staff, and students. Mrs. Anastacia Olembo spoke on behalf of the donors; “I congratulate all the students who performed very well, they have made us very proud. Congrats to the award-winning students, they will encourage the current students to perform exceptionally. We need to work with the university to grow the donor community and also the package that we are giving the students.” 

The colorful Prize presentation ceremony was organized by  a special committee led by the Dean, Faculty of Engineering Prof. Ayub Gitau.

The students from the Faculty of Engineering received cash awards from key donors including Gandhi Smarak Nidhi Trustee Fund, Mathu And Gichuiri, Institute Of Engineers Of Kenya, Isuzu East Africa Ltd, Survey Consult, Dr. Eddah Gachukia, Eng. Carey Orege Civil Engineering, Denis Omondi Adari Scholarship, Michael Kihara Macharia Resilient Award, Metsec Cables Ltd Prize And Student Activities Fund.