The Dean of the Faculty of Engineering, Prof. Ayub Gitau attended the inaugural AFRETEC Conference, which was held at Carnegie Mellon University in Rwanda. The two-day conference began on Sunday, November 6, 2022, and ended on Tuesday, November 8, 2022. The conference's main goal was to share innovations at individual universities and explore how these innovations can be leveraged across the entire network.

Representatives from Africa's seven-member universities attended the conference. The members developed a two-year strategic plan in which participating universities will collaborate to drive Africa's inclusive digital growth through higher education. The strategic plan outlines key activities that will see the universities develop a strong knowledge creation and educational infrastructure as well as provide a platform to engage in deed collaborations that drives inclusive digital growth in Africa.

Also present during the workshop were; AFRETEC Board of Directors and dignitaries from the Master card Foundation.  

Click here to watch highlights of the Conference: Day 1  and Day 2

Click here to view Photos: Day 1, Day 2, Day 3


The African Engineering and Technology Network (AFRETEC) is a pan-African collaboration of technology-focused universities from across the African continent. The creation of AFRETEC is a defining moment for the digital transformation of Africa. The network will build a strong knowledge creation and educational infrastructure on the continent. It will also provide a platform for its members to engage in deep collaboration that drives inclusive digital growth in Africa.

AFRETEC will create a platform for technology-focused universities in Africa to drive inclusive digital growth by collaborating on teaching and learningknowledge creation, and entrepreneurship activities within the area of engineering and technology.


  1. Carnegie Mellon University
  2. Université Cheikh Anta Diop de Dakar
  3. The American University in Cairo
  4. University of Lagos
  5. University of Nairobi
  6. University of Rwanda
  7. University of the Witwatersrand