Annual Report

ANNUAL REPORT – 2011/2012


The School of Engineering is located on the main campus, along Harry Thuku Road, directly opposite the main administration building of the University.  Nearby landmarks include the Central Police Station, the Norfolk Hotel, and the Kenya National Theatre.

The School has five departments namely:

  • Department of Civil and Construction Engineering
  • Department of Electrical and Information Engineering
  • Department of Mechanical and Manufacturing Engineering
  • Department of Environmental and Biosystems Engineering
  • Department of Geospatial and Space Technology

The School is the oldest in the University, having started way back in April 1956 as the then Royal Technical College, which evolved into the University of Nairobi by 1970.  To date approximately 8,000 graduates have been awarded the BSc Engineering degree as well as numerous Master of Science and PhD degrees.

Academic Programmes All the five departments offer a five-year undergraduate study program leading to a Bachelor of Science degree in the respective fields of study. They also offer a Master of Science degree running for two years, as well as PhD programmes. The School has been running a self-sponsored programme since 1998 which runs concurrently with the government sponsored programme. The academic year runs from October to July with the graduation ceremony taking place every September. Admission Requirements into undergraduate program The following will be eligible to apply for a course in any of the five departments: i) K.C.S.E. Applicants or Equivalent: For KCSE holders a minimum aggregate of C+ (plus). Additionally a grade of C+ in each of the cluster subjects, as follows: Physics Chemistry Mathematics




>> next page

News and Events

Contact Us

  • The  Dean
  • School of Engineering
  • University of Nairobi
  • P. O. Box 30197 - 00100 Nairobi, Kenya
    Location: Next to Nolfolk Hotel
    Tel: 254 (020) 3318262 Ext.28400/28415/28401
    Fax: -254 (020) 2245566



Media Center

UoN Website | UoN Repository | ICTC Website

Copyright © 2019. ICT WebTeam, University of Nairobi